I just retired!!!!!!!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I just retired!!!!!!!

Can't believe I just said that, but it's true. Just got home and it feels incredible. So grateful to God (and humbled) to actually reach this point of my life....the end of the rainbow. Been close to hyperventilating most of the morning lol. Need to begin decompressing and re-wiring my brain as to the new reality. My daughter told me..."daddy you have a brand new notebook, and every page is blank". Indeed. Lot's of positives to look forward to. I graduated from UK's College of Agriculture a long time ago. Well I just got a volunteer job with the Jefferson County Agricultural Extension Office here in Louisville, operated by UK's College of Agriculture lol. The idea that I work for and represent UK is something I could only dream of. I'm a homer. I LOVE my alma mater, so this whole deal is really powerful and I'm beyond grateful for the opportunity. Headed to Cumberland next week to drink Sam Adams, cook great food, eat, watch NCAA, nap, hike, rinse and repeat. So many, many other positives looming on the horizon(I'm re-doing my kitchen...I wore the old one out), and on and on. My advice to anyone who will listen.....save your money. If your not in a 401K at work, then get in one. If you in one already, increase your contribution. Start an IRA. Do it!!! End of lecture.

Congrats!

I've drummed the savings beat into the heads of the young guys here. A couple are starting to save, but at a really low rate. Last year was an incredible year for anyone with a retirement account - IRA, 401K Simple, etc. Some of us saw our retirement accounts increase by 20-30% over the last 2 quarters.

Enjoy!
    Last edited by surveyor; 03-16-2018, 09:08 AM.
    I feel sorry for people who don't drink. When they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're gonna feel all day. Frank Sinatra

Comment

Congrats! I have a few more years before I can.