Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The GBU: Hog Edition

The Good

* Tyler the Creator. The scuttle the last couple of days has been, unfortunately, that Tyler Herro is being discussed as a first-round pick. Which is disappointing because I love the idea of him as a sophomore. But as a freshman I truly believe he's one of the more intriguing players of the Cal era, which is obviously high praise. The kid can just play the game. One underrated thing about Cal, and it's something that's rarely discussed, is that the man is a pretty good talent scout. Yes, he goes after mostly can't-miss NBA prospects. But then you have the Bookers and the Gilgeous-Alexanders and the Tyler Herros--guys who sort of came out of nowhere to become college stars. And Herro is indeed a star. He plays the game with a grit and a toughness and if you don't love him, you don't know the game of basketball.

* Will to Win. Kentucky could have dropped an embarrassing one last night, but the Cats reversed a trend we've seen in the last month where we'll play great in first halves and fade in second. Last night the defense clamped down and Arkansas could do virtually nothing for the last 20:00. Only when Nick Richards couldn't grab rebounds against the Gafford kid did Arkansas have much semblance of an offense. Otherwise it was all Cats.

* The Very Tall and Very Large-Handed Mound of Rebound. Nick Richards grabbed an oddly quiet 15 rebounds last night. Even though I don't think he played a great game, and was involved in some spectacularly horrid plays, he did grab the basketball when it came off the defense board. Have to give the guy credit there.