Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Football Question # 11.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Football Question # 11.

    Team A scores a touchdown on the first possession of an extra period. On the try, team B is flagged for roughing the kicker. The kick is successful.

    A. The penalty is declined by rule.
    B. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, or choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
    C. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, but it may not have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
    D. Team A may choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated, but it may not accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series.
    John 3:3

  • #2
    I will take a shot and say B.
    Kentucky fan since 1971.

    Comment


    • #3
      "B"
      Before you abuse, criticize and accuse, walk a mile in my shoes.

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by Lighthouse View Post
        Team A scores a touchdown on the first possession of an extra period. On the try, team B is flagged for roughing the kicker. The kick is successful.

        A. The penalty is declined by rule.
        B. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, or choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
        C. Team A may accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series, but it may not have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated.
        D. Team A may choose to have the penalty enforced from the previous spot with the down repeated, but it may not accept the point and have the penalty enforced at the start of team B's overtime series.
        I will go with B also

        Comment


        • #5
          B seems to be the logical choice.

          Comment


          • #6
            Going for b

            Comment


            • #7
              The correct answer to question # 11,
              is B for all levels.

              RULE 8; Scoring.

              SECTION 3. Try Down.
              Fouls During a Try Before a Change of Team Possession.
              ARTICLE 3.

              b. Fouls by Team B on a try:
              1.
              When the try is successful Team A shall have the option of declining the score and repeating the try after enforcement, or declining the penalty(ies) and accepting the score. Team A may accept the score with penalties for personal fouls and unsportsmanlike conduct fouls enforced on the succeeding kickoff or from the succeeding spot in extra periods (A.R. 3-2-3-VI; A.R. 8-3-2-II; A.R. 8-3-3-I; and A.R. 10-2-5-IX-XI).
              2. A repeat of the down after a penalty against Team B may be from any point on or between the hash marks on or behind the yard line where the penalty leaves the ball.


              RULE 9 Conduct of Players and Others Subject to the Rules.

              SECTION 1. Personal Fouls.
              All fouls in this section (unless noted) and any other acts of unnecessary roughness are personal fouls. For flagrant personal fouls mandating conference review, see Rule 9-6.

              Roughing or Running Into Kicker or Holder.
              ARTICLE 16.
              a.
              When it is obvious that a scrimmage kick will be made, no opponent shall run into or rough the kicker or the holder of a place kick (A.R. 9-1-16-I, III and VI).
              1. Roughing is a live-ball personal foul that endangers the kicker or holder.
              2. Running into the kicker or holder is a live-ball foul that occurs when the kicker or holder is displaced from his kicking or holding position but is not roughed (A.R. 9-1-16-II).
              3. Incidental contact with a kicker or holder is not a foul.
              4. The kicker’s protection under this rule ends (a)when he has had a reasonable time to regain his balance(A.R. 9-1-16-IV); or (b)when he carries the ball outside the tackle box (Rule 2-34) before kicking.
              5. When a defensive player’s contact against the kicker or holder is caused by an opponent’s block (legal or illegal), there is no foul for running into or roughing.
              6. A player who makes contact with the kicker or holder after touching the kick is not charged with running into or roughing the kicker.
              7. When a player other than one who blocks a scrimmage kick runs into or roughs the kicker or holder, it is a foul.
              8. When in question whether the foul is running into or roughing, the foul is roughing.
              b. A kicker or holder simulating being roughed or run into by a defensive player commits an unsportsmanlike act (A.R. 9-1-16-V).
              John 3:3

              Comment

              Football Question # 11.

              Collapse
              Working...
              X